Wolverines Earn No. 1 Seed for CWPA Eastern Championship

April 17, 2012

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- The University of Michigan water polo team earned the No. 1 seed for the 2012 Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Women's Eastern Championship, to be played from April 27-29 at Brown University in Providence, R.I. The announcement was made by the league office after the seeding committee made the final decision.

The 13th-ranked Wolverines earned the number one seeding after capturing the CWPA Western Division championship with a 7-6 win over No. 19 Hartwick on Sunday (April 15) in Bloomington, Ind. The title is the Wolverines' 11th straight divisional crown.

U-M will be one of 13 teams in the championship tournament and will contest for the program's sixth Eastern Championship title. Michigan claimed the 2002, 2005, 2008, 2009 and 2010 titles, making appearances in the past four Eastern title games.

Per CWPA rules, the top two seeds in the tournament are reserved for the western and southern division champions. Princeton won the southern division championship last weekend.

Michigan will open play at Easterns on Friday, April 27, at 3:40 p.m. against the winner of the game between No. 8 seed Bucknell and No. 9 seed George Washington.

The winner of the Eastern Championship will earn the automatic bid to the 2012 NCAA Water Polo National Championship, to be held May 11-13 at the Aztec Aquaplex in San Diego, Calif.

1. University of Michigan
2. Princeton University
3. Indiana University
4. University of Maryland
5. Hartwick College
6. Brown University
7. Harvard University
8. Bucknell University
9. George Washington University
10. Mercyhurst University
11. Gannon University
12. Notre Dame College
13. Salem International University

Complete Tournament Schedule/Full CWPA Release

Contact: Zena Lewis (734) 763-4423