Skaggs Nets CWPA Rookie Award, Three Earn All-Division

April 24, 2014

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- University of Michigan freshman Allison Skaggs (Lake Forest, Calif./El Toro HS) was named the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Western Division Rookie of the Year, the league announced Thursday (April 24) on the eve of the annual CWPA Championship. She was also one of three Wolverines named to the all-division teams; senior Kelsey Nolan (San Jose, Calif./Leland HS) was named to the first team, while Skaggs and sophomore Presley Pender (Costa Mesa, Calif./Newport Harbor HS) earned second-team honors.

Skaggs has appeared in all 31 games this season for the Maize and Blue and owns 31 goals, 11 assists and 42 points in her rookie campaign. She ranks third among U-M's goal-scoring leaders -- first among the Wolverines' seven freshmen field players. She was named the CWPA Rookie of the Week three times during the regular season.

Skaggs is the third player in Michigan program history to earn the league's top rookie honor and the second in as many years, joining sophomore Bryce Beckwith (Sacramento, Calif./St. Francis HS), who garnered the 2013 honor, and Shana Welch, who claimed the award in 2004.

Nolan earned CWPA All-Western Division first-team accolades for the second time in her career, adding to her 2012 honor, and garnering second-team distinction last season. Nolan ranks second on the U-M team with a career-best 42 goals and 18 assists. Nolan, who has also twice earned CWPA Easterns All-Tournament honors, owns 129 goals, 92 assists and 221 points in her career, nearing U-M's top-10 all-time leaders in all three categories.

Pender currently leads the Wolverines with 45 goals, 36 assists and 81 assists -- career highs in all three categories -- and on track to become just the fourth player in program history to boast the most goals and assists in a single season. Pender has scored in 16 of the last 18 games, including multiple goals in 12.

Voted on by the head coaches in the division, the all-division team comprises the best players based on nominations from the coaches, combined with a review of each player's performance during the 2014 regular-season and divisional play.

The Wolverines will kick off the postseason this weekend, traveling to Lewisburg, Pa., for the annual CWPA Championship. As the No. 4 seed, the Wolverines will open play against No. 5-seeded Brown (18-20) at noon on Friday (April 25) at Bucknell's Kinney Natatorium. Depending on the outcome, U-M will play at either 1:30 p.m. or 4:30 p.m. against either Indiana or Connecticut College on Saturday (April 26). The championship game is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. on Sunday (April 27).

Player of the Year: Shae Fournier, Indiana
Coach of the Year: Barry King, Indiana
Rookie of the Year: Allison Skaggs, U-M

All-Western Division First Team
Jessica Gaudreault (Goalie), Indiana
Shae Fournier, Indiana
Allison Campbell, Indiana
Rebecca Gerrity, Indiana
Jemma Dendy Young, Hartwick
Sami Capparelli, Hartwick
Kelsey Nolan, U-M

All-Division Second Team
Michaela Davies (Goalie), Hartwick
Katelyn Jacobs, Gannon
Shelby Taylor, Indiana
Candyce Schroeder, Indiana
Presley Pender, U-M
Allison Skaggs, U-M
Gina-Bella Mata'afa, Notre Dame College

Contact: Leah Howard