Beckwith Nets CWPA Rookie Award, Three Earn All-Division
Clockwise from top left: Lauren Colton, Kelsey Nolan, Bryce Beckwith, Kiki Golden

April 25, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Four members of the University of Michigan water polo team were recognized at the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Eastern Championship awards banquet on Thursday evening (April 25) at the Junge Center. Freshman Bryce Beckwith (Sacramento, Calif./St. Francis HS) was named the CWPA Western Division Rookie of the Year, while seniors Kiki Golden (Danville, Calif./Monte Vista HS) and Lauren Colton (Tustin, Calif./Tesoro HS) and junior Kelsey Nolan (San Jose, Calif./Leland) all garnered all-conference distinction.

Beckwith has appeared in all 31 games this season for the Maize and Blue and owns 37 goals, seven assists and 44 points in her rookie campaign. She ranks second among U-M's goal-scoring leaders -- first among the Wolverines' 10 freshman field players. Beckwith is the second player in Michigan program history to earn the league's top rookie honor, joining Shana Welch, who claimed the award in 2004.

Golden and Colton earned repeat selection to the CWPA All-Western Division first team. Golden claims the distinction for the third straight season, becoming just the sixth Wolverine player to garner three or more first team accolades. She leads Michigan in goals (53) and points (83) this season and ranks second with 30 assists. The 2012 CWPA Western Division MVP, she lists among U-M's top-five career leaders in all major categories, including goals (201, 4th), assists (127, 4th), points (328, 4th), drawn ejections (132, 4th) and steals (274, 2nd).

Colton collected her second straight first team nod with 35 goals, 12 assists and 47 points on the season. She lists third among U-M's season leaders in goals and points. Colton also boasts Wolverine program records in drawn ejections, holding both the season (71) and career (241) standards.

Nolan was named to the All-Western Division second team this season, adding to her 2012 first team nod. The Wolverine junior boasts 23 goals, 22 assists and 45 points through 31 games played. She tallied six goals against western-division opposition this season, including a hat trick in U-M's regular-season overtime win at Indiana.

Voted on by the head coaches in the division, the all-division team comprises the best players based on nominations from the coaches, combined with a review of each player's performance during the 2013 regular and divisional championship seasons.

The Wolverines will begin the quest for a sixth CWPA Eastern Championship title when they host the annual tournament this weekend (Fri-Sun., April 26-28) at Canham Natatorium. The event's No. 4 seed, Michigan received a first-round bye and will open tournament play at 7:20 p.m. on Friday (April 26), facing the winner of the first-round game between No. 5 seed Brown and Connecticut College.

Player of the Year: Sami Capparelli, Hartwick
Coach of the Year: Barry King, Indiana
Rookie of the Year: Bryce Beckwith, Michigan

All-Western Division First Team
Jessica Gaudeault (Goalie), Indiana
Shae Fournier, Indiana
Jakie Kohli, Indiana
Kiki Golden, Michigan
Lauren Colton, Michigan
Sami Capparelli, Hartwick
Jemma Dendy Young, Hartwick

All-Division Second Team
Michaela Davies (Goalie), Hartwick
Lily Martinez, Hartwick
Colleen McNaught, Indiana
Rebecca Gerrity, Indiana
Baily Gadd, Gannon
Kaitlyn Jacobs, Gannon
Kelsey Nolan, Michigan
Kanoe Lyons, Notre Dame College

Contact: Leah Howard (734) 763-4423