Peale Wins EMU Fall Classic in Regular-Season Finale

Oct. 23, 2009

Site: Dexter, Mich. (Hudson Mills Metropark)
Meet: EMU Fall Classic (5,000 meters)
U-M Finish: Non-scoring
Top U-M Individual: Kaitlyn Peale, 1st (17:24)
Next U-M Event: Sunday, Nov. 1 -- at Big Ten Championships (State College, Pa.), 11:30 a.m.

DEXTER, Mich. -- The University of Michigan women's cross country team boasted six of the top-10 individual finishers, including four among the top five, to wrap up the regular season in decisive fashion at the EMU Fall Classic on Friday afternoon (Oct. 23) at Hudson Mills Metropark.

Junior/sophomore Kaitlyn Peale (Columbus, Ohio/Upper Arlington HS) paced the Wolverine squad for the second consecutive appearance, capturing her first collegiate cross country victory with a time of 17:24 -- the second-quickest showing of her career. The effort was Peale's fourth top-10 finish in as many appearances this season.

Three rookies joined Peale among the Wolverines' top-five finishers as freshmen Kaitlyn Patterson (Cadillac, Mich./Cadillac HS), Rebecca Addison (Spring Lake, Mich./Grand Haven HS) and Lindsey Hilton (Rochester Hills, Mich./Adams HS) placed second, fourth and seventh, respectively. Hilton clocked a personal-best time of 18:28 as U-M's fifth runner across the line.

Senior/junior Rachel Severin (Chelsea, Mich./Chelsea HS) registered her best performance of the season, claiming fifth place in 18:12 -- shaving 13 seconds from her season standard.

The Maize and Blue will kick off the postseason at the Big Ten Championships next Sunday (Nov. 1) in State College, Pa. The women's 5,000-meter race is slated for an 11:30 a.m. start at the Blue-White Golf Course.

Top 15 Individuals

 1. Kaitlyn Peale, U-M             17:24
 2. Kaitlyn Patterson, U-M         17:54
 3. Kylen Cieslak, unattached      17:59
 4. Rebecca Addison, U-M           18:06
 5. Rachel Severin, U-M            18:12
 6. Devyn Ramsay, Toledo           18:19
 7. Lindsey Hilton, U-M            18:28
 8. Mary Grace Pellegrini, U-M     18:30
 9. Rachael White, unattached      18:47
10. Leah Elenbaas, MSU             19:02
11. Melany Mioduszewski, U-M       19:04
12. Kristal Studer, Toledo         19:07
13. Jen Yee, MSU                   19:09
14. Diane Hamilton, MSU            19:13
15. Joni Camp, Toledo              19:19

Contact: Leah Howard (734) 763-4423