University of Michigan Hall of Honor -- 1978-1979

The University of Michigan Hall of Honor was established in 1978 to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions as athletes, coaches and administrators to the tradition of Wolverine athletics and, in doing so, have enhanced the image and reputation of the University of Michigan. The Letterwinners M Club Executive Board accepts nominations and presides over the selection of inductees.

Those inducted into the Hall of Honor have earned All-America recognition in a team or individual sport or, as individuals have established an NCAA, American or World record; won an NCAA title, or made significant contributions to the Michigan Athletic Department as a coach or administrator.

1978 Inductees

Name Sport/Years
Gerald Ford Football (1931-34)
Bill Freehan Baseball (1961), Football (1960)
Tom Harmon Football (1937-40), Basketball (1939)
Cazzie Russell Basketball (1963-66)
Bob Ufer Track (1941-44)
Bennie Oosterbaan Football (1924-27), Basketball (1925-28), Baseball (1925-28),
Assistant Football Coach (1928-47), Football Coach (1948-58),
Basketball Coach (1938-46)

1979 Inductees

Name Sport/Years
Fritz Crisler Football Coach (1938-47), Athletic Director (1941-68)
Ray Fisher Baseball Coach (1921-58)
Charlie Fonville Track (1946-48, 1950)
Willie Heston* Football (1901-04)
DeHart Hubbard* Track (1922-25)
Chuck Kocsis Golf (1933-36)
Ron Kramer Football (1953-56), Basketball (1954-57), Track (1954-57)
Adolph Schulz Football (1904-05, 1907-08)
George Sisler* Baseball (1913-15)
Rudy Tomjanovich Basketball (1967-70)
Fielding Yost Football Coach (1901-23, 1924-26), Athletic Director (1921-41)
* denotes posthumous induction

• Inductees by decade: 2010-19 | 2000-2009 | 1990-99 | 1980-89 | 1978-79