University of Michigan Hall of Honor -- 2000-09

The University of Michigan Hall of Honor was established in 1978 to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions as athletes, coaches and administrators to the tradition of Wolverine athletics and, in doing so, have enhanced the image and reputation of the University of Michigan. The Letterwinners M Club Executive Board accepts nominations and presides over the selection of inductees.

Those inducted into the Hall of Honor have earned All-America recognition in a team or individual sport or, as individuals have established an NCAA, American or World record; won an NCAA title, or made significant contributions to the Michigan Athletic Department as a coach or administrator.

Note: From 1990-2006, inductions were made every two years. No awards were presented in the biennial years of 1998 and 2000.

2002 Inductees

Name Sport/Years
Edsel Buchanan Gymnastics (1948-51)
Anthony Carter Football (1979-82)
Herman Fishman Basketball (1935-38), Baseball (1935-38)
Bennie McRae Football (1958-61), Track (1959-62)
Elmer D. Mitchell Director Intramural Sports (1919-42)
Bill Mogk Baseball (1950-53)
Penny Neer Basketball (1979-81), Softball (1983), Track and Field (1979-82)
Michael "Campy" Russell Basketball (1972-74)

2004 Inductees

Name Sport/Years
Jim Abbott Baseball (1986-88)
Sue Foster Cross Country (1979-82), Track (1980-83), Cross Country Coach (1987-91)
Dave Gillanders Swimming (1958-61)
Jarrett Hubbard Wrestling (1971-74)
Reggie McKenzie Football (1968-71)
Vicki Morrow Softball (1984-87)
Chuck Ortmann Football (1947-50)
Allen Wahl Football (1945, 1948-50)
Robert White Ice Hockey (1957-60)
Henry Wilmore Basketball (1970-73)

2006 Inductees 

Name Sport/Years
Mary (Callam) Brandes Field Hockey (1976-79)
Don Dufek, Sr. Football (1948-50)
Steve Fraser Wrestling (1977-80)
Melinda (Copp) Harrison Swimming (1981-83, 1985)
Beth (Wymer) Humbles Gymnastics (1993-96)
Tom Mack Football (1964-65)
Tim McCormick Basketball (1981, 1983-84)
Alicia Seegert Softball (1984-86)
Mel Wakabayashi Ice Hockey (1963-66)

2007 Inductees 

Name Sport/Years
J. Daniel Cline Football (1952-54), Baseball (1952-55)
Tom Curtis Football (1967-69)
Virginia (Duenkel) Fuldner Swimming (1965-66)
Wally Gacek Ice Hockey (1946-49)
Barry Larkin Baseball (1983-85)
Chris Seufert-Sholtis Diving (1977-78)
Melanie Weaver-Barnett Track (1979-82), Cross Country (1980-83)

2008 Inductees 

Name Sport/Years
Jenny Allard Softball (1987-90)
Ann Colloton Swimming (1987-91)
Bill Hewitt* Football (1929-32)
Desmond Howard Football (1989-92)
Michael Leach Tennis (1979-1982)
Ruth Pickett Thompson Synchronized Swimming (1977-81)

2009 Inductees 

Name Sport/Years
Julie Bachman Diving (1978-81)
David Wilson Campbell Baseball (1962-64)
Mindy Gehrs Swimming (1990-93)
Rick Leach Football (1975-78), Baseball (1976-79)
Bill MacFarland Ice Hockey (1954-56)
Diane Ratnik Volleyball (1981)
* denotes posthumous induction

• Inductees by decade: 2010-19 | 2000-2009 | 1990-99 | 1980-89 | 1978-79